top of page
Search

"When Will the Fantasy End?"

Updated: Dec 16, 2022


INTRO


I figured if I got 100 bucks for every flight, train, or bus I missed, I’d be a rich man by now. Goodness; you’d think I’d learn my lesson, but I guess as the languages change, my ability to catch transportation continues to diminish...

Anyways, I thought my recent backpacking trip came to its conclusion at the end of this past May. I also thought it had come to its conclusion when I had an allergic reaction in Amsterdam ahahaha. But yes, I hit 2 continents and 11 countries with one backpack in about a month’s time. And for icing on the cake: after my journey, on my road back to the U.S., I ended up in four countries in one day. While the actual traveling in an overstuffed backpack part ceased, I currently recognize that the liberation of self-discovery, new relationships, purpose achievement, and fantasy fulfillment -- let alone sippin’ on small coffees in cafes for hours --may never come to an end. Suffice to say, it’s been quite hard for me to wrap up my insights on this “trip;” because in a sense, I'm incessantly still backpacking. I am forever discovering myself daily in different countries.

As I most recently moved from Montenegro to Albania to continue my basketball career, I am still exploring different people with a whole new distinctive culture and identity. Guess my life is continuously "on-the-go," but it’s been an apparent trend that I will continue to embrace.


THE ALLURE


To begin, it is commonly known that Italy has been a birthplace of inspiration for the many individuals that have navigated the allure and enchantment of its natural and authentic beauty. The circumstances were no different for me.

There are few moments in life when your heart skips a beat, and your jaw simply drops; one of these moments transpired in the late summer of 2021, as I stepped into St. Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City for the first time. The elaborate and intricate details on the statutes, as well as the thorough specifics of the drawings in the stained glass windows, were beyond gorgeous; the magnificence and opulence of the pure art simply left me speechless.

Unfortunately, there were many other less-than-enjoyable moments during my trips to Italy over the past year that have left me speechless. One of them being when I slept through my hostel friends' attempts to wake me up, as I missed our two trains heading to Pompeii that day. Another time, when I showed up at the wrong airport in Rome, and missed two booked flights while trying to put the final edits on my dissertation that was due in less than a week. I don’t think my body has ever shaken that much from pure panic, adrenaline, and overall anger in a long time. Those 100 bucks would be adding up huh?

But fortunately, I met some amazing individuals from all over the world during my 2021 trip there to make up for it. The memories of the off-pitch karaoke sessions at the hostel, as well as our uber scooter adventures to secret clubs in Rome will always hold dear to me. (Shoutout to Darius, Brian, Cya, and all the others, if you ever get a chance to read this). What I observed from them -- and the other solo travelers I encountered -- were many distinguishing factors that came with backpacking as a lifestyle. For one, there was a lack of connection to material things; a sense of an uplifted and free soul, as well as a unique trailblazing and pioneering vibe and vision. I detected an ultimate sense of confidence and independence. They were on an enhanced and inspiring adventure, where you were more naturally forced to embrace the moment -- and I wanted a piece of this experience.

Truth is, I’m a notorious over-packer; it's a considerable pain lugging around all those bags (and books aha). But I also even hate to admit that I used to be concerned about the perception of my trip to others. How much fun did it look like I was having? How engaged was I with all the cool touristy spots? Was I fitting into the local scene stylistically? I very quickly determined that focusing on a few possessions really forced me to live in the moment (it also made it easier to catch another (flight, train, or bus).

During my journey, I also began to identify that backpacking reveals layers of yourself to yourself -- like it or not. It's your bare self immersed into someone else’s world as you find your position in it. You have to be flexible, quick on your feet, and accept your surroundings and circumstances. Bringing an oversized backpack (that I eventually broke because I stuffed too much crap in it, per usual) was a liberating action for me, honestly. You never know, one day I may only bring a plastic bag, aha.


4TH QUARTER PLANNING


As I held onto those memories from Italy and arrived in London to begin my season, those emotions from first migrating to Durham in the past year never dissipated. Unfortunately, it set an even bigger “cloud” over the country of England; not that it needed anymore. Subconsciously, I was looking for any and every opportunity to leave, and you bet at the first break in our season I did, sheesh. The mid-break of the 2021 - 2022 season was full of complications; some due to some unexpected “covid” cases. During this period I was able to take a successful last-minute trial backpacking trip to Barcelona, Spain, and Budapest, Hungary. Both destinations were absolutely amazing, but I will touch upon the latter further down.

Fast forward to the conclusion of the season in the spring of 2022. At this point during the ensuing months, through varied research and recommendations, I had a good idea of where I wanted to explore; still, there were so many moving pieces. I was attempting to align my trip with certain events and friends along the way. As noted, I met some incredible people from my previous travels; and they wanted to collaborate upon my journey or even host me. In addition, some of my close friends and teammates from the states who resided in Europe were definite priorities -- so I had to plan around their schedules. Lastly, there were some national holidays taking place around the continent, and I knew I would regret missing them; it was going to be the"Day of the City," in Split, Croatia, and "King's Day," in the Netherlands.

Towards the eventual commencement of my journey, my club was deep in the playoffs, so obviously my efforts were quite consumed by other matters to say the least. But we were eliminated unexpectedly, so the bookings popped up and needed to be done rather hastily. Many of them came down to the last minute. I felt like Jordan in the 4th, goodness. But as you may know: just another day in the life for Sir Kob.

I’ll be brief on the highlights of the journey in this blog, but will be more than happy to elaborate in case you ponder or would like to partake in the activities I did in your future trips.

For one thing, I literally traveled from the most Western point of Europe to the most Eastern part. I was able to trace the heritage of the many extraordinary cultures of Europe in trends; and over the course of time identify how so many countries and their pasts were connected. I can easily say more than 50 percent of my time was dedicated to visiting museums; both mainstream and lesser-known. It was truly a beautiful thing, and the historian in me was absolutely going ballistic.

I started in the sunny Lisbon, Portugal; stopped in Madrid, Spain; popped up in Paris, France (Bonjour Kelbra!); proceeded to Amsterdam (the capital of The Netherlands or Holland for my geographically challenged); journeyed to Berlin, Germany; immersed myself in the sensational Prague, Czech Republic (the greatest museums I've ever been to); made a pit stop in Vienna, Austria (4 museums in 10 hours! Guinness where ya at?); navigated through Split and Zagreb, Croatia (Shoutout to Roko and Nikola); departed for Ljubljana, Slovenia (many thanks to Susek family); came around to Istanbul, Turkey to see the Eastern/Western civilization "collide," and my “big bro” Nick (still need to try a wet burger); and I ended up in the breathtaking Tuscany region of Italy -- discovering new cities and statues by the daily. And to be honest, as exhausted as I was, I was ready to extend my sightseeing in more countries -- until I heard my niece was graduating from pre-school back in the states. So of course, my travels were paused for the moment.

I can say with confidence, that my favorite destination was Budapest -- nearly beating out Prague. I often feel like there is a negative perception on many Eastern European countries; maybe due to the recency of the conflicts, because many of these countries are only newly independent. But in my personal experience, nothing will beat the pure delight of feeling and seeing the recent cultural and societal shifts, in addition to the countries' slow acceptance of western societal influence while maintaining their individual identity.

To put it in perspective, after immersing myself for hours in the long and varied history of the Hungarian people at the Buda Castle, I desired to see "Heroes' Square." The square was the location of many recent significant events that led to the liberation of Hungary from the Soviet Union. Keep in mind, it was wintertime, and even though I had been living in England for slightly over a year, my inner Floridian was exposed by the lack of sufficient warm clothing I brought. So safe to say: I was freezing! I couldn't feel my fingers as I marched for miles down Castle Hill and across the city.

As I finally walked into the square and saw the famed Millenium Monument and surrounding statues -- time seemed to stop.


I was left speechless.


I felt in that moment like I arrived; my spark and desire to further encounter other countries' national identities in this way, was augmented entirely. It seemed as if the country itself put me in a warm embrace. I forgot about the cold. The proud and recent history, combined with the Christmas-time atmosphere was sensational. I distinctly remember the incredible smell of lángos (traditional Hungarian food) reaching my nose and also hearing the joy of kids ice skating in Városliget (City Park) nearby. The energy was completely pulsating, and that memory will continue to fuel my ambition to travel.

Furthermore, while I did hit some major “touristy” cities; in my eyes, the real cultural and national experience is in interacting with the locals and hearing the stories that they have endured. You can go to all the big cities in the world, but until you either sit down and engage with someone from the area or even go to a smaller town nearby — I feel like you’re missing the real authentic moment.

I got a piece of an authentic experience while attending a championship basketball match in the historical Drazen Petrovic Basketball Hall in Zagreb. I was obviously enthralled with the action of the game -- and in typical fashion coaching from the sideline in my head -- but I was captivated by the ceaseless cheering from the home crowd fans. I slyly took some videos and sent them to my friend (a Split native) to translate what they were saying. I was delighted by their natural zeal for the game and the intensity of their cheering. But then, in heavily accented English, I was aggressively told by a nearby group of fans, to put my phone away! Man! While it took me aback at first, I couldn't help but appreciate the dedication of the local supporters for their home team; and also appreciate the commitment to living in the moment. This brings me to my next point.

I of course reiterate my previous sentiments about social media. I sincerely wanted to live in the moment during the trip while also balancing sharing where I was with my beloved friends and family. I didn't want to be in the mode of “flexing” some of the great aspects of my life, because we’re all guilty of it; and honestly, it gets annoying as hell.

Realistically speaking, on some Kendrick Lamar “Savior” vibes, I find myself becoming more and more at peace with the detachment of what’s going on in everyday life. That was part of the“fantasy” of this trip. Actually leaving what was behind and absorbing what was occurring in the moment. Living your best life isn’t doing what seems cool to people or rockin’ the latest clothes or posting pictures from cool places; it’s executing your purpose. It’s about spreading love and doing what you’ve been called to do. Hey, maybe it's traveling? Maybe it's being at home? Despite the post you see, just be content with what you're becoming and what you're doing. And of course, avoid those catfishes…


THERE’S NO PLACE LIKE HOME?


Amid the booking fees, missed modes of transportation, and lack of sleep, I can easily say this was a truly thrilling and sensational out-of-body-like experience. New adventures, new sights, and the same old Spotify playlists baby. But I won’t fail to acknowledge some realizations I came to. Of course for myself, but also for my beloved home country.

First off, many people often inquire how I seemingly adjust to many places so comfortably; well first, if I got my headphones, as well as some good wine and scenery, trust me, I can pretty much vibe anywhere. But I digress, I make it a point specifically, to seek out the connectedness and similarity of us all. Although we don't speak the same language, we communicate out of love, in our shared passions and struggles. When a song comes on, a movie comes out, a sport, etc., it seems like we understand each other seamlessly even with a language barrier. Doesn’t that tie us in closer? Man, I can tell u that my favorite part of every leg of my journey, was pulling up to the courts and playing pickup with the locals; maybe a couple of former pros would be here and there as well. That common drive of competition, being the best; a thrown elbow or two to get the win on a random weekday. The language is just an afterthought, but the love remains all the same.

Equally important, even our struggles transcend international borders and cultural differences as well. A lot of the issues you think you face in solitude, hit home in so many homes, or “konut,” as the Turkish say. Many individuals face family drama, transitionary life as a fresh graduate, grief over death, or even varying mental health battles; struggles that all wear us down. What really helped drive this home for me was the Ukrainian refugees I met along the way. Some were literal families, but on one occasion, I connected with a young professional just like myself. The only difference between him staying in Berlin for a short time versus me, was that he literally woke up to a missile outside his house one day… Man.

God bless the Ukrainian people, but to the original point: don’t let the media sound bites, or what you see scrolling through your feed dictate your perception of all the other countries on this globe. There’s infinite diversity in the world. Culture upon culture. Dialects upon dialects. Identities intertwined. The divisiveness sewn among us, seems like a literal attack on our human makeup and natural connectedness.

Consequently, the more I’ve been abroad, the more I am completely turned off by the American workaholic culture, the over-the-top consumerism, sensational politics, and patent racism among so many other topics. Now don't be mistaken: no country is perfect and every place shares similar challenges on different landscapes and will continue to do. I love America and being an American; shoot, my party trick to this day is giving you a fact about every U.S. president in order. But I recognize more and more that our American way of living is not the “know all, be all.”

It’s funny — whenever I get back to the states, soooo many close associates are always like “well there’s no place like the US!” But listen “bro,” there’s also no place like Ljubljana, or no place like Zagreb, or no place like Pisa; shall I continue? God willing I make it to the rest of the world but people live in so many different ways, and maybe somewhere else fits better for you? That’s a legitimate possibility. Not everyone can just get up and leave; I was extremely blessed with the opportunities in this season of my life, so I will take these callings in stride with my heart. There may be a fit for you elsewhere in the world, I don’t know — sometimes you just gotta pack your stuff and figure it out.

Moreover, as Americans, we need to come to the realization that we can learn from the rest of the world. Trust me: it really does not matter how big or small the country is. We all have great aspects to offer; it's only a matter of willingness to work to overcome our flaws, and our pride. If you're a company or even a sports team, wouldn’t you use any and every opportunity to improve by studying your competition? Recognizing their strengths versus your own? As Americans, I feel as if we’re so consumed with a bodacious arrogance, that many countries have surpassed us in a lot of aspects, but we have failed to recognize and act upon it.

Every country has its “phoenix story,” where out of the ugliness and tragedy, it rises anew. The architects, the greatest minds, and generational heroes emerge to create something great. Kinda like life right? Breaks you down to build you up. It reveals for you to grow. Every country has its dark past, it's just a matter of the particular ways to address and rectify it. History and human nature operate in themes and rhythms, so if you’re naive to it, the repercussions of genocide, generational displacement, and a multitude of disparities will unfortunately persist. And as Americans, I do feel like we’re so naive to so many critical world events. We’ve been blessed yet cursed, with our geographical isolation. It has also been historically reported that on average, a fewer percentage of Americans hold passports in comparison to many other citizens in advanced countries on this globe. It sickens me to hear Americans generalize smaller countries; especially when they have no prior knowledge to that country! (Matter of fact, in many instances the first time they probably ever heard of a country, is upon my reference to it!)

Mark Twain once said: “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.”

But on the last point, I guess the generalizations are all across the globe. During my travels it’s evident I’ve let some people down when I’m not acting like some stupid rap video; or able to quote Keeping up with the freakin’ Kardashians on demand.

Lastly, I take the perspective of my travels to those that LOOK like me. Being brought to a country against our own free will, along with being historically displaced and deprived is no small matter, and MANY still seem to underestimate its repercussions. Every day that I tune into the news, it seems like I find yet another piece hinting at racial implications that makes me feel frustrated; and like I’m not welcome. It’s part of the reason I enjoy the luxury of detachment altogether. It seems like more pretentious and confrontational racial acts perpetuate themselves every day.

So I tell you this: seeing some other parts of the world may alleviate some of the pressure and frustrations off of you. I can personally tell you it has for me. Do not be content with the comfort of your own community, either: those unintended physical and mental barriers continue to hold us back from further growth.

This being said, I’d regret to be the one to inform you that racial prejudice takes form everywhere. But there is a sense of insulation when evaluating U.S. affairs from outside its borders. I reference a W.E.B. Dubois quote as he reflected on his time while studying in Germany, stating: “I found myself on the outside of the American world… They did not always pause to regard me as a curiosity or something sub - human.” In summary, I believe he intends that those microaggressions and overt dangers just aren't as hostile.

Personally, I often feel serene, outside of my home borders. In certain countries, will you get stared at? Absolutely. But I recognize that it's not an action out of malice, only mere curiosity. They are not only curious, but they are also breaking out of physical and mental barriers — they are actively attempting to rise above the repercussions of their country’s “phoenix story.”

For example, one day while living in a small village in Montenegro, I was limping back from rehab; unfortunately, I had yet again sprained my ankle. Despite the pain, I was specifically vibin' to the Blonde album by Frank Ocean, and taking in the gorgeous backdrop of mountains that surrounded the town. I had an elderly lady walk up to me, grab me, and express in broken English how she loved seeing somebody with my dark skin walking through town -- it was a small town so obviously I stuck out like a sore thumb -- she then extended an open-ended dinner invitation. Bless her soul. It was awkward at the time for me, and I never followed up on her invitation -- but the sincerity of her actions, and innocent curiosity, have charmed me to this day. Those international interactions we experience, both small and large, transcend the historical and geographical divisions that pull us apart.


CONCLUSION


Only now do I see that a couple of years back, my world needed a little shaking up; my interest and ideas needed some inspiration, and ultimately, my soul did too.

I only write this blog as a visceral reaction to my experiences of throwing my belongings in a backpack and simply departing. But as seen during my travels and reflections: backpacking is a mere symbolic achievement. Our holidays, travels, and paid time off are more than just vacation time. It is an intentional time to enhance ourselves, redefine our perspectives, and acquire a deeper sense of purpose during our lives.

Realistically, it looks different for everyone. I’d be remiss to acknowledge the personal luxury I have had to be able to enter a valley of silence, detachment, and exploration outside my home borders. But I DO hope this sparks someone to be creative as they find their place in this world.

In my opinion, all our lives correlate to a hero's arc in a way; we undergo journeys, celebrations, thresholds, and pitfalls in order to achieve a higher transformation. My backpacking exploits were yet another pivotal piece on my path.

One's deeper sense of spiritual, physical, and mental enhancement could be calling you this weekend, or during your next paid time off. Take the calling in stride and embrace the adventure. Maybe it’s a local city in your own home country? A day trip? A new bar, cafe, park, or museum for an hour? There are so many untapped pockets of this world that our worthy of our desires and fantasies, and it’s calling you to stop being so restricted; to break from the norm, and commit to a new path of self - discovery, and experience. The perception of your enhanced adventure doesn’t have to be for anyone else as well; just for you, your mind, and overall joy. We only get one chance at this short life, so it’s imperative we make the most of it. And man lemme tell you: these aren't cliches, they are profound mantras taught throughout the ages.

Lastly, I take time to again thank the many friends who I either met or hosted me on my journey. Obviously, my travel lad Morgan from England, who joined me on the eastern leg of my trip -- he got some real insight into my hectic life, as I did his. Also, my buddy Kostas from Athens, who will never learn how to successfully rent a bike in a large city… hahahaha. And of course Zohra and Anass, for inviting me to break bread with them during Ramadan, and the only individuals in my recent memory that got me to order a whole meal (in french!) without knowing what I was consuming. No allergic reactions that time :). There are so many others I didn’t list by name publicly, whom made this trip what it was, but as I’ve already done privately, I’m extending more love and blessings to you all! We legendary baby, the journey continues!


“Kobra Out.”



















224 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page